Malin Races- 26th July

Spartans’ Success at Malin Races

Spartans out in action in Malin

Malin Peter Malin1 Racing around the bend

City of Derry Spartans took honours in both the Malin Mile and 5km races today despite heavy rain and a windswept course. First to the Mile, where JP Williamson took pole position with a swift 4mins 45 secs clocking ahead of Darragh Crossan Derry City Track Club on 4 mins 53 secs closely followed by the battling Eoghan Furey on 5mins 6 secs taking a well-deserved third place and Eoghan can take some consolation from the fact that unfavourable conditions did have an adverse effect on times.

Next up for the Spartans was Dara Furey returning to action with a very good 5mins 44 secs, a credible run given his lack of speed work and race fitness and once again displaying his competitive instinct despite the stiff competition.

The undulating 5km was next and JP Williamson led from the front finishing in pole postion on 17mins 12 secs ahead of Inishowen AC’s Benny Wilson on 17 mins 53 secs with Darragh Crossan Derry City Track Club taking third position on 17mins 55secs. JP is to be commended for consecutive wins under such difficult conditions. Lastly, our dedicated duo of Peter Lilburn and Joe Mc Carthy won both their categories with the former winning the V60 category on 19mins 30 secs and the latter taking the V55 category on 19 mins 53 secs. Excellent runs by both athletes. A word of thanks to the organising committee at Malin consisting of Inishowen AC and Letterkenny AC for a well-organised race and first class reception afterwards.

Hannah McGowan came 1st in both the mile & 5k events. A notable enough achievement as she was only a second of the race record for the mile, considering the terrible weather conditions.